News Feed

43rd Annual Retired Staff Dinner
The elementary hosted the 43rd Annual Retired Staff Harvest Dinner. The retirees enjoyed a social gathering prior to the meal giving them a chance to visit with their peers. Following the traditional Thanksgiving fest, the crowd was entertained by the 2nd grade students from Mrs. Knapp's class. The students read a couple of fun poems to the group. The district would like to say THANKS to the members of this elite group for the many years of service to our students!
Iowa Supreme Court Justice Bruce Zager
The Iowa Supreme Court held a session at Anderson Auditorium on the campus of BVU on Oct. 15. While in Storm Lake Justice Bruce Zager spoke with a group of students at SLHS. What an opportunity for our students to hear first hand about our Supreme Court system. 
photo 12
Dakota Days Parade

The Tornado Marching Band participated in the Dakota Days Parade in Vermillion, South Dakota. The group tied for 1st place by points but was awarded the 2nd place honors due to the tie breaker criteria. The Music Department would like to THANK everyone for their enthusiasm and support for the band this fall. They have had a great time!
Thanks to Donna Musel for the picture!

Kreative Kitchen has scheduled their first meal for
Friday, October 17.
Check out their webpage for menus.

Upcoming Events

Monday, October 13

10th Football vs Algona H 5:00pm-9th cancelled
Girls Swimming vs Algona/Spencer @ Spencer 6:30pm

Tuesday, October 14
7th Volleyball vs LeMars T 4:15pm
8th Volleyball vs LeMars H 4:15pm
Cross Country @ Emmetsburg Invite 5:00pm
Volleyball vs Spirit Lake T 5:30pm
Wednesday, October 15
PSAT time/place TBD
Retiree's Harvest Dinner @ Elementary 11:30am
Board of Education Meeting 7:00pm
Thursday, October 16
Volleyball vs Cherokee H 5:30pm
Girls Swimming vs Algona/Emmetsburg @ E'Burg 6:30pm
Friday, October 17
Football vs Heelan H Tackle Cancer Night 7:00pm
Saturday, October 18
NWI 7th/8th Honor Band Auditions @ Elem/MS
Volleyball Storm Lake Invite @ HS 9:00am
Sunday, October 19



In the Spotlight

MS Student Council Members
2014-15 MS Student Council

Front Row - (l to r)  Tiffany Trujillo, Jenna Butler, Cambrie Andrade, Alayna Rice, Sandy Thammavongsa, Anna Rasasy, Holly Dierenfield, Jackie Gomez

Middle Row - Diana Roque, Keegan Miller, Nick Olesen, Yasmin Carrillo, Tyler Dvergsten, Alma Patrick, Taylor DeMey, Rilyn Nielsen

Back Row - Ben Raveling, Vanessa Vrieze, Nick Slight, Kylee Lange, Nyakim Tut, Sami Lalone, Katelyn Ortiz, Jessica Slight

MS Student Council Officers

 2014-15 Council Officers

Ben Raveling - Secretary
Nyakim Tut - Vice President
Sami Lalone - President
Rilyn Nielsen - Treasurer